

Steering Committee

The Deschutes Collaborative Forest Project is guided by a 20-member Steering Committee made up of diverse interested stakeholders. The Steering Committee does not make decisions about the management of forestlands within the 257,000 acre Landscape, but strives to develop consensus recommendations that are then forwarded to the Deschutes National Forest (US Forest Service) with the support of the Collaborative.

The Deschutes National Forest has made a commitment to integrate collaborative recommendations into management activities. The Steering Committee oversees the Deschutes Collaborative Forest Project and its restoration strategy and helps to prioritize and endorse restoration activities. The Steering Committee is the formal channel for the Collaborative to provide input to the US Forest Service on management decisions within the DCF Landscape including, but not limited to, CFLR fund allocation and restoration approaches.

Contacts: Pete Caligiuri, 541-388-3020

| Forest Products Industry (1-2) | Chuck Burley, Interfor |
|-------------------------------------|--|
| | John Williams, Quicksilver Contracting |
| Environmental (1-2) | Marilyn Miller, Miller Conservation Consulting |
| | David Stowe, Sierra Club |
| Community Wildfire Protection (1-2) | Ed Keith, Project Wildfire |
| | Tom Fay, Deschutes County RFD #2 |
| Tribal (1) | Clay Penhollow, Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs |
| Watershed / Water Resources (1-2) | Darek Staab, Trout Unlimited |
| | Bill Anthony, Upper Deschutes Watershed Council |
| Local Government (1-2) | Alan Unger, Deschutes County Commissioner |
| | Jon Skidmore, City of Bend |
| State and Federal Govt. (1-2) | Jen O'Reilly, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service |
| | George Ponte, Oregon Dept. of Forestry |
| Recreation / Tourism (1-2) | Ruth Williamson, Deschutes Rec Assets Committee |
| | Sally Russell, Deschutes Rec Assets Committee |
| Private Landowners (1-2) | Chris Johnson, Cascade Timberlands, LLC |
| Researcher (1) | Ron Reuter, OSU Cascades |
| At Large (0-2) | Glen Ardt, Oregon Dept. of Fish and Wildlife (retired) |
| | Loren Kellogg, OSU College of Forestry |

Current Steering Committee membership: