Southern Oregon Clean Energy Alliance

The Southern Oregon Clean Energy Alliance (SOCEA) initially consisted of 5 Southern Oregon Counties, and has since grown to include 8 counties in the southwest corner of the state.  The SOCEA counties are: Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Klamath, Lake, Lane and Josephine.  All these counties have been hard hit by the contraction of the traditional timber economy.  This fact, … Read more

Applegate Sustainable Aggregate

Gravel extraction can often be harsh on the surrounding environment and detrimental to landscapes and watersheds.  In the Applegate Watershed, which falls in both Josephine and Jackson counties, an Oregon Solutions team was convened to review available data and to identify the conditions and additional studies needed to determine how to extract gravel in an … Read more

Charleston Coastal and Ocean Center

The town of Charleston, on the southern Oregon coast, supports one of Oregon’s largest commercial and recreational fishing fleets and also serves as the base of operations for multiple scientific, education and coastal resource management organizations.   In order to plan for a productive and sustainable future, Charleston was looking to develop an integrated coastal and … Read more

North Bend Airport Terminal

In October 2003, the South Coast Development Council in conjunction with a majority of the region’s economic development stakeholders published a “White Paper” entitled Economy and Transportation Issues, Coos County, Oregon. Chief among its findings and recommendations was the development of an expanded commercial air route structure and the construction of new passenger terminal facilities … Read more